patricksimmonsblog

A blog for CPCF 1F25

What the Hail?!

Advertisements are supposed to attract people to watch, read, or listen to them.  Once a company knows who they want to target, they will find a way so they can catch their audience’s attention.  In my media and society text book they say, “Pick up a copy of any newspaper and note how it interpellates its readership into particular subject positions.” (O’Shaughnessy and Stadler 186).  If you have noticed the newspapers are split up into sections that are more appealing to males or females.

The advertisement that I chose takes place at a gas station and has two young adult males.  The one is filling up his car with gas, while the other is inside the gas pump pumping gas into the nozzle to go into the car.  The guy in the gas pump is squished in and looks very tired and flustered.  Underneath the guy in the gas pump is a blurb saying “Life’s too short for the wrong job.  Jobsintown.de”.  This advertisement is very effective as it grabs the attention of people with no jobs or very poor paying jobs. The ad tries to get the message out by how you shouldn’t be working a job that you don’t enjoy since you only live once.  The advertisement seems to be targeted towards my demographic as it shows two white males near their early twenties, one of them is part of the middle class and the other guy is a part of the lower class.  They both obviously live two different lives and work completely different jobs.  By strategically showing me these things in the ad, it drew my attention instantly meaning it will do the same for others who are young adult male’s currently unemployed or looking for a job.  No one wants to be on the other side of that pump so it will make people think about what they can do differently in their lives so they won’t end up in a similar situation.

As I said before this ad was very well executed as it hits on a lot of main points which will grab people’s attention.  This ad does represent my beliefs as I want to get a job that I will enjoy doing, and it is never a good thing just to waste your life away doing nothing or something so demanding that you will hate your life.  Also my text book says, “… a form of consciousness raising… that can give us more power and awareness in terms of understanding ourselves and others” (O’Shaughnessy and Stadler 191).  That’s what this advertisement makes me think, is how I don’t want to end up with a job that I will regret doing.        

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2013 by .